URGENT Important Message from your State Society

Dear Colleague,

You have either already received or will shortly receive your ballot with the 2020 AAOS Resolutions and Bylaws.

We urge you to vote to reject the AAOS Bylaws Amendment Groups 1 & 2.

These proposed Amendments are contained in the attached *Annual Meeting Official Notice* (bottom of page 11, Article IX). If adopted, these amendments would delete critical sections in the Bylaws that codify the fundamental essence of the Board of Councilors (BOC) and place them in a Policy and Procedures Manual (P&P Manual) which can be changed *without the broad oversight and transparency necessary to change the Bylaws*.

As the only national grassroots deliberative body in the AAOS, the Board of Councilors is critical in its role as a conduit between the Fellowship and the Board of Directors. As such it deserves the protections afforded by the Bylaws and it should not be possible to alter its essence without broad input by the members of the Academy. These amendments will remove these protections and they should be rejected.

A more detailed explanation can be found in the accompanying FAQ Fact sheet.

Thank you for your consideration.

David Teuscher	S. Terry Canale	Edward Toriello
Past President, AAOS	Past President, AAOS	Past Chair, BOC
Ramon Jimenez	E. Anthony Rankin	Basil Besh
Past Pres, COA/WOA	Past President, AAOS	Past Chair, BOC
Larry Halperin	Shep Hurwitz	Dwight Burney
Past Chair, BOC	Past Exec Dir, ABOS	Member, BOC

Paul Collins	Blair Filler	John Crawford
Past President, WOA	Past President, WOA	Member, BOC
John Dipreta	Robert Slater	George Lucas
Member, BOC	Past President, WOA	Past Chair, BOC
James Slough	Peter Mandell	Daniel Moon
President, NYSSOS	Member, BOC	Member, BOC
Thomas Barber	David Cannon	John Reilly
Past Chair, BOC	Pres, Tenn Ortho Assoc	Member, BOC
Matthew DiCaprio	Steven Lyons	Marc DeHart
Member, BOC	Pres, Florida Ortho Soc	Member, BOC
John Gill	Jeffrey Nakano	Fred Redfern
Chair, AAOS Ortho PAC	Member, BOC	Past Chair, BOC
William Robb	Stephen Eckrich	Scott Scutchfield
Past Chair, BOC/BOS	Past Member, BOC	Past Chair, BOC
Jonathon Garino	Ryan Cassidy	Stephen Duncan
Pres Pennsylvania Ortho So	oc VP, Ky Ortho Soc	Pres, Ky Ortho Soc
John McGraw	Maureen Finnegan	Laura Tosi
Past Chair, BOC/SOA	Past Chair, BOC	Member, BOC
James Keeney	Greg Della Rocca	Lisa Cannada
Member, BOC/BOS	Member, BOC	Past Chair, BOS
David Mansfield	Marc De Hart	Bill McMaster
Member, BOC Pa	st Pres, Texas Ortho Soc	PastPres, COA/WOA
Linda Rasmussen Past Pres, WOA	Ed Arrington Past Pres, SOMOS	